Wk 4 – Art Experience – Graffiti Writing

For week fours art experience, we did graffiti writing. Originally, I was kind of afraid and intimidated of graffiti writing. It seemed messy and difficult to do. Unfortunately, after actually participating in the art experience, I still think it is messy and difficult to do, but I also think it is a lot of fun and I have gained a lot of respect for the graffiti artists out there.

Since I was unable to go Venice beach, I used a big piece of card board and three colors of spray paint: baby blue, orange, and black. I used the baby blue as a background, but it is hard to see in the pictures. I next used the black spray paint to roughly write out my name in bubble letters. Next I used the orange paint to outline the black letters. Finally using the baby blue paint again to put a little crown on the C in my name.

I may have made it sound easy what I did, but I assure you it was not. The whole process was an interesting and fun learning experience. I messed up a lot of times, but was able to just paint over my mistakes. I also used paper to help aid in keeping some of the lines tight. Over all I really enjoyed this art experience and hope to someday gain more experience with spray painting.

Leave a Reply

