Wk 11 – Art Experience – Turning Pages

12986554_975050105881768_72228654_o

In my opinion, I believe the best way to document ephemeral experiences like Turning Pages is through pictures or writing. Words can help revitalize an old memory or help spark a new fantasy. It is said that a picture is worth one thousand words. Pictures can help capture a moment in time and remind someone of their past or something they have not experienced. I do believe style does matter. If a writing is less precise or leaves blank spaces, it is up to the viewer for interpretation, versus if the writing was very descriptive, it would give a very good visual for the reader. For photos, there are many ways to control the observer’s perspective. Such as controlling field of view, shutter speed, how light or dark the picture is, etc. Or on the contrary, you could leave the picture bare and open for interpretation. I do believe that trying to document an experience somewhat takes you out of the experience, but documenting it allows others to also experience what you did. From my experience, taking photos on a trip or vacation does take me out of the experience a little. But when I go back to look at the photos, they mean so much more to me because of the memories they bring back and how real they seem.

I felt that taking pictures in the book store was a lot more welcomed and we did not have to be as secretive about it. I thought this activity was interesting and the thoughts that came along with it. In our everyday college student lives, we don’t really ask ourselves these types of questions, or at least I don’t. I couldn’t say I really have any new insights about the nature of spaces, books, or education besides the fact that as the times are changing, so are these spaces.

Leave a Reply

